A poetic journey through my mind

Funny funny excerpt

I don’t usually read Freshly Pressed blogs…more of that contrariness that so informs my personality quirks…but I got hooked, and clicked.  Most of the post is funny, but the last two paragraphs surprised a full belly-laugh from me, and I wanted to share.  Mind, I’m a big fan of the Travel Channel‘s food programming,  like Bizarre Foods and No Reservations, but I cook like the second paragraph, so it was especially funny to me…but I think it’ll hit home with most.  ;)

“I, admittedly, enjoy reading up about consumables but food culture sort of misses me.  I think a part of me wants to understand because I really do love a variety of foods but I always seem to fall short once it starts to sound like an erotic novel about rare ingredients.  Then again, I suppose the alternative isn’t much better:

“I cooked some beef today because it was on sale and I hadn’t had any in a while.  I was going to cook a nice chicken curry with rice but then realized that it was going to be just me and I needed to eat that beef because it was starting to stink.  It needed some salt, so I salted it.  I’d say it was pretty okay because I didn’t get all that sick.””

KC & Co.

10 responses

  1. you’re a gem! I think you are so wonderful ! Truly ~Deborah

    April 17, 2012 at 1:47 am

    • KC

      ::blush:: Sheesh…more compliments! My head is getting so big it’s not gonna fit on my pillow! ;)

      *hugs* Seriously, thanks, hon. I appreciate your appreciation. *grins* You’re pretty awesome too! You’re so positive, all the time…you’re an inspiration to me. Btw, you’re Mormon, right?

      KC & Co.

      April 17, 2012 at 1:55 am

  2. George Weaver

    Ah, you are too funny, KC, to be such a wicked poet.

    April 17, 2012 at 2:15 am

    • KC

      Or am I too wicked to be such a funny poet? *raises an eyebrow*

      I love you too, my George. For one, because you were one of the first to truly inspire me, and for another because you have the insight and people skills that I can only dream of, and for third…because your name is the same as Nancy Drew’s sidekick in the book series. *grins, hugs*

      KC & Co.

      April 17, 2012 at 2:21 am

      • George Weaver

        Lord, Girl, you won’t do. I never read a word of Nancy Drew in my entire life. Can you believe it? Arrested development. That’s how it happened. No Nancy Drew. Geeze … you’d a thought somebody woulda’ tol’ me. Seriously, you are some kind of good. You know that, I assume. If you don’t, take my word for it.

        April 17, 2012 at 2:25 am

  3. clownonfire

    KC,
    Freshly Pressed is so overrated. Who would ever want to be Fp’d anyway, right?
    Pfft. Pfft.
    Le Clown

    April 17, 2012 at 6:36 am

  4. http://brainsnorts.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/top-10-reasons-why-i-will-never-be-freshly-pressed/

    there’s a formula it seems to what gets pressed. certain number of photo blogs. trips to europe. cute animal pics. attempts at humor.

    April 17, 2012 at 8:37 am

  5. you didn’t get too sick!! you do make me smile!

    April 17, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  6. lenwilliamscarver

    HAHAHA you are a wonderful writer and terrific jokester as well

    April 17, 2012 at 5:46 pm

  7. Love this belly laugh at one’s own lack of culinary ambitions! Thanks so much for sharing.

    April 20, 2012 at 2:52 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers