A poetic journey through my mind

Alice in Underland

Alice in Underland

alice, from the depths of madness,
can you see the light of day?
can you, dearest, hear my sadness,
know the words i cannot say?

Liddell, Alice; not so little,
little alice in the middle,
alice you must run away,
and live to play another day.

dream of hatters, dream of rabbits,
duchesses with nasty habits,
playing cards with double faces,
frantic dodos running races.

lift your glasses, raise a toast,
roast meet alice, alice meet roast.
guest at the table, new-made queen,
in circumstances unforeseen.

if life is Chess, then this is Life,
chaos strewn with pain and strife,
moving her from square to square,
pretending she was never there.

see her hiding from old fears,
or drowning in her own salt tears,
or running panicked through the wood,
where names (and minds) are gone for good.

through the mirror, racing past,
a stranger in my looking glass,
am I here or am I there?
am I truly neverwhere?

running faster just to keep
in place before I fall asleep,
and fall again into that hole
that winds away inside my soul.

the jabberwock may be snuffed out,
but I’m still in here, have no doubt.
trapped within anothers dream,
but will he waken, if I SCREAM?

let me see the world you dream,
alice dearest, let me in,
let me find the light that gleams
in the soulless dark within.
alice, from the depths of madness,
can you see the light of day?
can you, dearest, hear my sadness,
know the words i cannot say?

12 responses

  1. Frantically clicking “LIKE” x

    April 1, 2012 at 9:27 am

  2. Reblogged this on Lily Wight and commented:
    Love, love, love Kyotzeta’s twisty poem!

    April 1, 2012 at 9:29 am

  3. elmediat

    Excellent piece. The sustained rhythm, narrative voice, and sustained imagery are all effectively used to build a dramatic & emotional poem. Very well done indeed ! πŸ™‚
    Will be passing this on to none blogging friends & family.

    April 14, 2012 at 11:51 am

    • KC

      Thank you both! I have to admit that of my recent (post-blog) poems, this one is my baby. πŸ™‚
      I considered attempting to make it literally corkscrew, in honor of Carrol, but decided that might not go well… πŸ˜‰

      Lily, I apologize for not thanking you for the lovely compliment and the reblog…can’t remember if I did on your site or not. I’m usually not that careless, so I hope I did. πŸ˜‰

      Elmediat, I am honored by your review. I really appreciate when readers can give me a “why” they like it…other than “it was good”. Of course, extreme happiness works as well. *laughs* And thank you for the compliment of thinking it’s worth sharing offline. That makes me happy.

      Thanks again, and keep reading, hopefully there’ll be more! πŸ˜‰

      KC & Co.

      April 14, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  4. dianesloftis

    KC-

    I am speechless after reading this. Well, actually I think I was able to utter a “wow” after realizing my mouth was hanging open and thought maybe I should actually make a sound. I have always liked Alice in Wonderland.. but honestly even more after Johnny Depp starred in the latest film version of it ! (I am a huge fan of him.. by the way.)
    The art piece that I posted on Facebook is fabulous. I am going to research the artist that you mentioned as well… Because I think I am becoming a fan of this whole style of “goth Alice” too. But it is very new to me right now. πŸ˜‰

    January 3, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    • KC

      Hmm…a fan of The Depp. Aren’t we all? πŸ˜‰ I like the film versions that have hit the mainstream so far, my fave still being the original Disney because they caught that feeling of confusion, of just-slightly-off-balance, that I think LC was reaching for. They also used bits and pieces of -both- books, and having already read and loved them before I ever saw the movies (think I was…6-7’ish?) I appreciated that. Be warned, though, that some of the goth-ish stuff can be pretty disturbing. Being mad myself there’s very little I can’t take (like, no…take, yes) but some of them, the pictures especially, almost hit that edge for me. If you don’t mind silly-gritty with a dash of insanity you should watch “Malice in Wonderland”. It’s an awesome Alice re-take, semi-modern-gritty and semi-crazy-tribute. One of my faves right now. It’s on Netflix right now, but it’s somewhere between strong PG13 and mild R, so use your own discretion. *hugs*

      January 3, 2013 at 6:24 pm

  5. Oh my, this is so Underful Wonderful!

    January 6, 2013 at 1:27 pm

  6. Reblogged this on TedBook and commented:
    A poem written by KC. I was impressed.

    January 7, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    • KC

      Aww. Thank you! Guess what? I’m gonna be on your Fiction Relay team! I can’t wait. *grins*

      January 7, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      • I’ll be looking for your installment, and taking all the credit.

        January 8, 2013 at 1:53 am

  7. Dear KC,

    I found this via a re-blog from Ted Strutz. I owe him. This was a beautiful poem. To say more only gets in the way of the mood it put me in. Thank you.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    February 4, 2013 at 12:43 am

    • KC

      Mahalo, Capt. That is one of the best compliments a poet can receive and I appreciate your timing. You made a stormy day a little brighter. πŸ™‚

      KC

      February 4, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

