A poetic journey through my mind

Rowan

What can I say that hasn’t been said before?
A million songs to a million pairs of little eyes?
Little hands and feet wave at me
through clouds of fragrant wordstuff,
almost buried beneath falling cadences and
sickly-sweet prose. Reaching down, I brush
ineffectually at the swarming bits of fluff,
trying to find something within that is solely you.
With a giggle and a sweet-scented burst of clarity,
you reach for me, scattering useless noise to all
sides, emerging before me like Venus through the waves,
moss-green eyes burning the chaff off of my mind until
all that remains is you, unique and whole and singular
and more precious than words can say.

2 responses

  1. Very, very wonderful ode to the wonder and completeness of “just you, just as you are.” Love the metaphors about blowing off the fluff of descriptive words!

    March 19, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    • KC

      Thank you! I wrote this to my best friends little one when she was about a week old. I was there when she was born, I was the first to hold her, and she was as much mine as Becky’s until a week from her second b-day when I had to move back out here to Jacksonville. Her first name words were Ma and Mep, which is how she pronounced Meg, which is/was my name out there. We skype to each other at least once a week, and she’s finally stopped asking when I’m coming home… *sighs*

      She’ll be 3 in 2 months, and probably getting a little brother for a b-day present. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (possibly two, or else he’s gonna be -huge-…*giggles* )

      I wanted to write something about her…something that said how wonderful and awesome (in the original sense of the word…full of awe! ) I found her…but it was so frustratingly hard to not sound like a Hallmark card or some other banal “beautiful baby” poem. So, I wrote about that! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      March 19, 2012 at 9:56 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

