A poetic journey through my mind

Light (Sunday Post)

This is my contribution to the Sunday Post weekly challenge.  I’m not completely satisfied with it, but I’m not sure why, and I know the more I struggle with it the harder it’ll resist.  So here it is.  😛  (rewrite/edit.  Much thanks and hugs to my friend Len, who never fails to impress me with her insight and brains.  She rewrote the end of the poem for me, creating a much needed end point where I had left it wide open.  Now, a challenge to all…who can tell me the three classic fairy tales that I reference here?  Good luck!)

the green light of jealousy, madness and fear,
the light of friendship, cherished and dear,
a glint of light on an apple so red,
the light that fades from the eyes of the dead,
the light that shines through the crystalline bier,
the healing power of light from a tear.

the light that shines in a cruelly high tower,
the light that marks each lonely hour,
a sparkle of light from a helm far below,
the light that makes eyes blink as downward they go,
the light of old power, as danger draws near,
the healing power of light from a tear.

golden curls gleam with a light all their own,
light in the blue eyes that sparkled and shone,
the green glow of jealousy, hatred and spite,
the flash of lightning that cuts through the night,
light that gleams from a needles sharp tip,
the light that fades from the candles that drip.

the light that returns to the dusty old halls,
the light from the candles that glow on the walls,
light fills the ballroom as chandeliers sway,
a thousand bright candles turn night into day,

light in the eyes that open and gleam,
awaking from sleep to the light of loves dream.

11 responses

  1. So much light… very thoughtful poem
    i love the line “the healing power of light from a tear”

    March 26, 2012 at 11:41 am

  2. rewrite to last verse:
    the light from the candles that glow on the walls,
    light fills the ballroomS as chandeliers sway,
    A thousand bright candles turn night into day,
    light in the eyes that open and gleam,
    awaking from sleep to the light of loves dream.

    All the references to light but there was no
    direction , by changing up the last verse it culminates into
    he/she waking to the light of loves dream.

    Hope this doesn’t upset you that I changed it up but you can delete or maybe at least it will give you anew thought for the focus of the poem.
    I really like how you write wish I could get to the point you are at I seem to have not a thought in brain for writing just now. ~~Len

    March 26, 2012 at 11:54 am

    • KC

      *hugs* I think you got it! At least with a bit of tweaking… 😛

      And never feel hesitant to give me helpful critique! I love an outside look at what has been only in my mind.

      By the way..what happened to your blog? ;(

      March 26, 2012 at 12:38 pm

  3. Ooooo! LOVE this! It reads like an incantation, spoken before a mirror, or while poisoning that apple. Caught all three fairy tale references, deftly and beautifully used. Truly loved this; thanks for sharing!

    March 27, 2012 at 12:45 am

    • KC

      Thought you would! Get the references, that is. 😛 Glad you liked it! I love playing with old stories, picking them up and showing off the facets that normally lie dusty on the floor. It’s part of my addiction to myth and mythos. I want to know the -why- of stories, not just the what. 🙂

      March 27, 2012 at 1:08 am

  4. Truly a sweet poem, very nicely woven…I think the 3 classic fairy tales are Snow White, Rapunzel and Cinderella?

    March 27, 2012 at 6:40 am

    • KC

      Close! Sleeping Beauty is the last one. Now that you mention it, however, I need to do a Cinderella piece…hmm. 🙂

      March 28, 2012 at 9:30 am

  5. I like it !!

    March 27, 2012 at 10:45 am

  6. Is it Snow White, Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella/Rapunzel? I truly enjoyed all the references to the different light behaviors and patterns.

    March 28, 2012 at 3:01 pm

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post: Blossom | Inspired Vision

Talk to me, people! ;)

