A poetic journey through my mind

Happy Birthday, Kyotzeta!

Tomorrow is my birthday! Well, my blog, at least. 😉 One month ago tomorrow I opened this blog on the advice of Kit McConnell, one of the authors in my writing group. It was only meant as a place to put my -old- poems, as stated in my main page (which I have -got- to fix, it looks awful!) however, the way things stand today I’ve written more new work than I’ve posted old!

Not that I’m complaining, mind. I’ve written more this month than in the last 10 yrs. combined! And it’s all thanks to you, my new best friends (*cough*) loyal readers. I have 30 followers!! I really never expected to have 4 or 5, and I love you all. I love you all for the talented, wonderful, supporting and confidence boosting (“To the moon, Alice!”) people that you are! *hugs*

Now to the meat of this post. I was wrestling all night with how to make tomorrow special in some way, and other than writing about it (which will most likely happen, but reminds me of a medieval reenactor wearing their medieval clothes for Halloween. The modern version of a “Busmans Holiday”) I couldn’t imagine what I could do!
Then I got on this morning, and realized I had been looking at it backward. Instead of it -being- special, why not use it to -do- something special? I’ve been seriously pondering making up a little collection/zine/book thing to promote knowledge of all the hidden things out there…all the “social commentary” things that I write. As a charity effort or fundraiser or something. Obviously it’s not finalized, but I had an interesting idea.

As my stuff is obviously not enough to fulfill the nature of a collection of that sort, even with all the new stuff I will undoubtedly write before then…I’d like to ask you all a huge favor. I know some/all of you are published authors/poets/artists in your own rights, so if the answer is no, I’ll understand.
Can any of you who can/want to, contribute something to the collection? Not money, of course. But anything else will be considered and most likely included. Poems, stories, articles, photos, whatever! Of course it goes without saying (or should 😛 ) that everything submitted must be your own work or something you have permission to use in this manner, and that every contribution will have full and total attribution information in the book.

Not that you wouldn’t most likely do it for nothing, but just to make it interesting, every contributor will have their name put in a virtual hat (one entry per name/blog)and drawn randomly at our next months anniversary for a $25 Amazon or I-tunes gift card. I know it’s not a lot, but I’m on an extremely limited budget right now. 😉

Once again, I apologize if I’m breaking any blog-etiquette rules with my request. If it’s too bad, I can even trash this post and re-write. And if I’m being too shy and overly self-deprecating, then just ignore it!

8 responses

  1. happy bday in advance 🙂

    April 5, 2012 at 12:46 pm

  2. Very happy One-Month-of-Blogging B’day, KC. I would be DELIGHTED to contribute one of my longer poems to your collecition to support a worthy cause. Just let us know where to submit and when and how, okay?

    April 5, 2012 at 2:06 pm

  3. Happy Birthday my dear Lovely Poet friend Kyotzeta. I would like to contribute one of my poems (that I have written in the past) to your collection too. As Granbee said, just let us know where to submit and when and how… I hope and wish you to have a great Birthday, tomorrow. With my love, nia

    April 5, 2012 at 4:37 pm

  4. artblablablablog

    I would love to partake in the festivities, just pick something off the shelf that blows your skirt up and let me know what it is. Happy Birthday iiiiiiiiiiiiii (those are candles ;-J) BTW, I love this tree background, very cool.

    April 5, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  5. Happy birthday! Shall I bake the rabbit cake?

    April 5, 2012 at 11:28 pm

  6. Happy Birthday to you!! I will be so happy to send a poem or two just let me know what type and where to send it. As this is to build up a book for charity you do not need to buy a prize I am sure we would all do this gratis!! Have a great day!! 😀 xxxx

    April 6, 2012 at 5:58 am

  7. Sorry, I somehow missed this most crucial of posts – it was in my ‘missed while offline’ pile of stuff. I hope you had a lovely birthday nevertheless? I think it’s a wonderful idea, as do most of the people who commented, so just let us know more details as the idea becomes clearer in your mind.

    April 11, 2012 at 2:54 pm

  8. KC

    *hugs* Thank you all for your support and well wishes. We’re up to 45 followers as of today, btw!

    I’m researching how to create an e-book. I think I’ll have people email me their contributions, and then sort out an order and maybe some pictures, and then figure out how to turn it into an e-book.

    KC

    April 11, 2012 at 6:37 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

