A poetic journey through my mind

Embrace

Center torn and ravaged by the storm that blew you in,
I stare into the void that hides behind your eyes of sin.
A distant flash of mercy serves to emphasize the dark,
then flickers, fades and dies without a sole redeeming spark.
Poised upon the razors edge of drowning in your seas,
to break the thrall of that dark call I fall onto my knees.
I bow my head and close my eyes and hear my heart beat faster,
as if it knows, and feels you near, the presence of its master.
And now a hand, so cool and soft, to smooth my fevered brow,
then glide along my cheek and pause…a throaty whisper, “Now…”
I cannot tell from whom the voice, but know that I am lost,
my life is Yours forever more…my soul the only cost.

4 responses

  1. Rommmaaaance is beautiful and love is definitely worth the cost!

    April 7, 2012 at 7:59 pm

  2. artblablablablog

    I don’t see this as romantic, I see it as a trapped person in a situation they are not in control of. Am I wrong? Sometimes I interpret things horribly wrong and backasswards.

    April 8, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    • KC

      *laughs* I think not enough people read the tags. It’s a vampire poem, actually. The “Embrace” is one term for the creating of a childe vampire. But both of the comments are correct, honestly. In my mind, it’s a romance of sorts…or really, a seduction, I suppose. And as much as the childe is protesting, he/she got there of their own free will. They made the choice, this time. There are forcible, horror-filled embrace stories…this one is more of a…ritual? A romance. I have to say it really is. A dark, twisted romance, on both sides, with horrible consequences…but still, a romance. However, trapped and out of control truly describe it as well. Again, a twisted sort of love that needs to control, to own…and to be owned.

      April 8, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  3. A dark, enslaving lover that cannot be resisted: for sure!

    April 16, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

