A poetic journey through my mind

Experiment

This one is…kinda weird.  I like some of the images, although they feel scattered.  I really had a theme in mind when I wrote it, I promise.  The rhyme scheme just kinda happened, but it’s interesting.  😉

A place to hide
a lookout stand
shelter from the storm

time and tide
not what I planned
function not the form

sun through the clouds
breaking the ice
waters running free

lost in the crowds
a roll of the dice
Merlin in the tree

free from the past
here in the now
stability and status quo

flying half-mast
behind the plough
a tougher row to hoe

5 responses

  1. I do like this experiment, it’s got a good rhyme and rhythm to it. Great rural imagery, which I can fully relate to now. Maybe not quite finished?

    April 7, 2012 at 2:42 pm

  2. yeah, there’s something there, but it’s not quite hanging together yet is it – I wonder if the rhythm is outpacing the ideas, whether the rhyme is constraining something.

    April 8, 2012 at 12:19 am

  3. artblablablablog

    I like it, I like the scattered aspect of it, I like that it isn’t nailed down, can go anywhere, like life.

    April 8, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    • KC

      Heh, thanks. If I remember right it was meant to be a sort of timeline…at least, each piece was later in time, further down the path. It was written while bored to tears in yet another group-therapy session. 😉

      April 8, 2012 at 5:22 pm

  4. Thus did I feel working in my childhood farm’s cornfields next to some deep woods.

    April 16, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

