A poetic journey through my mind

Found art story #1

This is number one of a series of 5 stories, poem or other, inspired by/written for a handful of pictures from Christina over at Artblablablablog.  I chose this one to go first to give Mr. Mike his something secretive and dark.  😉 

Photo by Christina at Artblablablablog!

“One pill makes you larger, one pill makes you small, and the ones that Mother gives you don’t do anything at all…go ask Alice, when she’s ten feet tall!”
“White Rabbit” by Jefferson Airplane

Hmmph. Well, I’m Alice…but don’t ask me! Trust me, don’t. I’m likely to tell you, and then where would you be? Lost, same as me, that’s where.

Lost in my head, far from my bed, lost in the woods of shouldn’ts and shoulds, cravings and ravings and speaking in rhyme…aren’t I having a marvelous time?

Oh, no, not you again. You just shut up, you! You got me into this in the first place, with your little whiny voice. “Oh, please! It’ll be fun! You -like- camping with your family, so this’ll be even more fun! They’re nice guys, and there’ll be other girls there too…and what if we say no, and they make fun of us? We have to go!” So we went. And here we are. In the woods, in the dark, a baggie of stolen pills in my hand.

Little pills for certain ills, of the mind that’s caught the chills, and for the mind that’s running low, and the one that wanders to-and-fro!

Heh. Wandering. Yeah. That’s what I’ve been doing all day, and all day yesterday…and likely all day tomorrow, unless they find us and kill us for stealing the pills. Find me, I mean. Not us. There is no us. THERE IS NO US! Ummm…sorry about that. Just an echo. Really. Now, where were we? Oh, yeah…trying to figure out where we are.

Take a pill! Just one little pill, you saw what it did for jack and his jill, as they fell laughing down the hill and lay them down so very still!

No! No pills. That’s why I took them in the first place! These things are dangerous! They make you see things, feel things…awful horrible things. Things with big teeth and worms for eyes that used to be a snotty cheerleader named Jill. Things that laugh and laugh and laugh until you panic and run, not realizing what you clutch in one sweaty hand.

Why do you wait? It can’t hurt! You’re sitting here in cold and dirt, and freezing as the sun goes down with no idea how far to town, or if there is a town at all or maybe you just had a fall, and you’re really lying in the dirt all bloody-broken-dashed and hurt…

I can’t! I’m…I’m afraid, alright? My brain feels fuzzy enough as it is, and all I had was a bit in a drink. I’m afraid what’ll happen if I try it…but you’re right…it is cold.
Maybe just -one- won’t hurt…

“Officials are still investigating the strange disappearance of 7 college students in the state park this weekend…so far the only clue to the mystery is an abandoned bag of aspirin.”

8 responses

  1. Another success,KC! Aspirin and fanstasy and fairy tales do the trick, for sure.

    April 16, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    • KC

      I don’t seem to be able to avoid the fairy-tale/myth imagery, the images are just so strongly interwoven my thought process. On the other hand, they’re also strongly interwoven into many readers minds, by nature of what they are, so I don’t think I’ll worry about changing it any time soon. 😉 *hugs*

      KC & Co.

      April 16, 2012 at 7:34 pm

  2. I do love it!!

    April 16, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    • KC

      I’m glad! *hugs*

      KC & Co.

      April 16, 2012 at 7:37 pm

  3. artblablablablog

    Oh I so LOVE this collaboration! The drama, the suspense, the fantasy, the fear, the voices- all so lovely and twisted my talented friend, and at the end the deadly aspirin! Just delightful, nicely done!

    April 16, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    • KC

      See, it’s comments like this that make it so I don’t -need- awards to swell my head! 😉 I love you too, my artist buddy! Couldn’t have happened without your eye for the mundane-made-fantastic! *hugs*

      April 16, 2012 at 9:27 pm

      • artblablablablog

        Thank you! Now I feel even better than I did before!

        April 16, 2012 at 9:30 pm

        • KC

          Then my work here is done…

          *giggles*

          KC

          April 16, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

