A poetic journey through my mind

Bones of Ash, Heart of Glass (aka A -real- book update!)

Alright, I am now officially hopping off my arse and getting to serious work on our book.  To recap, here’s the story so far…

On Kyotzeta’s one month birthday, I wrote that I had an as yet vague idea to publish some sort of collection or book to raise awareness of all kinds of abuse and try to give a voice to the silent ones as I’ve tried to do with my words for so long. I asked for contributions (non-monetary) to the book, in any form preferred…prose, poetry, photo, picture, etc.  However, at the time, I had no idea what it would take to publish such a book, or even whether it should be free or have a minimal cost with all money donated to a charity…

Over the weeks since then, I’ve (slowly) researched and thought about it, and so far  these are my conclusions.  Since this is to be -our- book, if anyone has any comments, complaints, suggestions or just plain ideas, please please please feel free to comment below!

So what we have so far:

The book will be (tentatively) titled Bones of Ash, Heart of Glass, and will take the form of a free e-book that anyone can download.  (Not sure about format, going to try to go for the publishing software/site that has the most choices and yet still allows free books)   I’m -considering- setting up some sort of donation site as well, but that will be separate from the book if possible. (*sighs*  Why is it so -complicated- to do something good??)

Of course, all submissions will be properly attributed, and submitters will have the option of writing a short descriptional blurb for an “Authors” page.  On the other hand, all submissions -must- be your own intellectual property, or something you have permission to use in this fashion.  I know this hardly needs said… 🙂

Submissions should be sent to my email, kyotzeta@gmail.com, with “book submission’ in the title.  I want to try to have this done by fall, if possible, hopefully coinciding with the new school year…so the sooner you get me your submissions the better…on the other hand, don’t rush.  Hopefully once I start collecting and organizing my stuff I’ll have a better idea of what kind of timeline we’re looking at…

Hrrmm…I think that’s all I have for now, except to say Thank You for considering this project, I think we’re going to do wonderful things toward the ultimate goal…raising awareness of every facet of abuse, giving a voice to all the silent ones and hope to the hopeless.  *hugs*

Yours always,

KC & Co.

27 responses

  1. The title is awesome Looking forward to seeing the progress on your adventure in writing.
    Peace,
    Siggi In Downeast Maine

    April 18, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    • KC

      Thanks…it has a poem to go with it…but I haven’t written it yet. *laughs*

      KC

      April 18, 2012 at 11:32 pm

  2. the title is great, the job of work you’re taking on is scary. If I come across something in my furry brain, shall send it. 🙂

    April 18, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    • KC

      You’re telling me! *shivers* But worth it…I know it. *hugs* Anything at all is welcome.

      KC

      April 18, 2012 at 11:33 pm

  3. so you’re looking for writing to go in a book about abuse? do i have that right?

    April 19, 2012 at 12:30 am

    • KC

      I suppose that’s what you would call it. I only know how it is in my head, I’m not sure what a publisher or writer or anything would say. The picture I have is just a collection of work dealing with the subject of abuse. Child abuse, domestic violence, sexual abuse, emotional abuse…as many facets of the issue as I can find and/or portray. I want to show people who might not know, as well as offer hope to those who do, and -hope- to have a back section with a collection of internet and other options for help and shelter and etc I want to try to not be “preaching to the choir”, but more giving the “choir” a voice they may not have had before.

      Does that make sense? 🙂

      KC.

      April 19, 2012 at 1:00 am

  4. KC, I admire your ambition. 🙂

    April 19, 2012 at 4:41 am

    • KC

      Sheesh. I know, right? *breathes deep* This is the biggest project I’ve taken on (that I’m going to be able to complete, anyway*) but I really -need- to do it. The why…some of it will be obvious, some obvious to you, in a DBT sort of way, and others…will wait for a post, after a bit. 🙂

      *hugs*
      KC & Co.

      April 19, 2012 at 11:14 am

      • Hugs back. No you’re right. You do need to do it. Think of how AMAZING it will feel to complete this project. And, you have tons of support, as you can see! 🙂

        April 19, 2012 at 1:21 pm

  5. lenwilliamscarver

    WOW! What an undertaking! Not sure you realize the scope but have to really admire your ambition. I have submissions and if you need info from a victim/survivor of sexual/mental/physical abuse let me know as I was a victim of those three and I lost my daughter last year due to DV. I would be honored if you would consider any of my writings for your book. Thank you.

    April 19, 2012 at 6:00 am

    • KC

      No, I would be the one honored. I need/want viewpoints from all sides of the issues, as many as I can get! This is important to me, and personal on many levels (Not as many as yours, *hugs tight*) and it’ll be a paying forward for the help i got back in the 80’s.

      The first time I heard “My name is Luca” by Suzanne Vega, I had to sit down on a bench in the grocery store because I was crying too hard to walk. And it just kept going. The main reason I got to love Urban Fantasy was because of Misty (Mercedes) Lackey’s Serrated Edge series, and it’s themes of abused children being rescued by racecar driver elves and wizards…but more so for the message she put in the back of every book with the National Runaway Hotline, and the statement that even if you can’t really have elves, there are all kinds of people to help, if you just give them the chance.

      As for the scope…yeah. I tried to start a chapter of a Clubhouse Theory ( http://www.iccd.org/ ) mental health program once…which involved contacting state level politicians, writing fundraising/sponsor request letters to various charities and charitable organizations and such…with the goal of buying a house to use, hiring a small staff, and getting them training in the Clubhouse Philosophy and methods to make us official. >;< I had gotten to the point of raising -almost- enough to get started…and I had a breakdown due to my brother being murdered and had to pass it on to someone else who proceeded to drop the ball so hard they decided against finishing the project. *breathes deep* So yeah, scope. This…well, it won't be a piece of cake…more like one of those fancy sugar-dessert thingies they build on Food Network Challenge…but I'm -almost- sure I can do it. *chuckles,hugs*

      Yours,
      KC & Co.

      April 19, 2012 at 11:39 am

      • lenwilliamscarver

        My God you have had so much tragedy too. I believe God puts others in our path or us in theirs ti learn, teach, help one another perhaps this is why we are were we are. Truly I am not a stalker just find you to be quite interesting and the way you write I am envious. Whatever I can do just let me know I will send you via email my story if you would like.

        April 20, 2012 at 8:13 pm

        • *chuckles, hugs* It’s ok, you can stalk me all you want. Just kidding, you know it. I am quite interesting, as long as you like broken crystal balls. You know, the kind that have been dropped and broken, but not shattered? When you look at them from all sides, you find they are the most beautiful and brilliant where they are cracked… 😉

          I’d love to hear/read your story, and to have it for “Bones” if you say so. *hugs tight* Tragedy and pain can’t be measured, or compared, they can just be endured, and maybe in the end, learned from and shared. If anything that has happened in my life can help someone out of having the same thing happen, I’ll shout it from the rooftops and the tallest skyscrapers!

          Please do send me your story, and/or anything else, or even just if you feel like talking. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, WP seriously needs to implement a chat client. Mrr. *hugs*

          KC

          April 20, 2012 at 9:24 pm

          • lenwilliamscarver

            KC. the following may be of interest to you for your book not sure so check them out if you want to use I would be honored , if not no problem I have a feeling you are going to be inundated with stories and poems.
            THE DRUNK SEPT
            MOMMA SEPT
            BETWEEN HER THIGHS SEPT
            CLOSET DWELLER OCT
            THE NEIGHBOR WITNESS OCT
            ABANDONMENT MARCH
            TOO HOT MARCH

            I am rewriting one called Battered be ready in a day or two. ty

            April 23, 2012 at 6:30 pm

          • KC

            *hugs* Sorry it took me so long to reply, this week’s been hectic and a half. I haven’t gotten over to read your things yet, but I will this weekend, hopefully. I’m sure one or more of them will be perfect, considering what I’ve read so far. 🙂

            KC

            PS: As for being inundated…not so much, so far. *sad-face* You, Willow, Nia, Granbee, Marina, Christine, Rich, maybe Deborah…and I forget if anyone else, I -really- need to make a list. I’m working on putting together another blog just for the contributors and other interested parties, so I can stop cluttering this site up so much, and as a place to put all the specific poems of mine that will be in the book in one place.

            April 26, 2012 at 11:09 pm

          • lenwilliamscarver

            A new blog will be perfect so that you don’t have to have all the stories in with the other catagories. If there is any way I can help just let me know I am not real proficient on this new fangled contraption called a pc/computer or whatever it is but will be happy to help. Hugzz{{}}

            April 26, 2012 at 11:35 pm

  6. I admire too… This sounds that will be a great project. The title is great too. I wish to write something for this but I don’t know how and what I can write… I need my muses… 🙂 Thank you my funny Poet, you are amazing. Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    April 19, 2012 at 6:36 am

    • KC

      Nia love…my Christmas Girl…you write whatever you can, and I know you’ll come up with something amazing. Your words and thoughts are beautiful, almost as much so as your pictures. *hugs tight*

      Speaking of pictures…is there any chance at all I can use a few of yours, with full credit to you, and your approval of each piece, of course, as illustrations for a few pieces of short fiction or poems for the book? Like the one I did with Christine, if you need an example. *hugs*

      Hoping to hear from you and your muses…thank you!

      *hugs*
      KC & Co.

      PS: No doll yet, as no more money till the first. >;< Feeding myself and my baby car takes precedence, unfortunately. *laughs* I was hoping to borrow some from my mom, but it turned out I'm about $100 short in the bank, which -she- is going to have to fix…so yeah. *sighs*

      If it helps, I plan on finding one like yours, as I love the Monster High series…just not sure which "character" I want. 😉

      April 19, 2012 at 11:47 am

      • My Dear Funny Poet, you are amazing as always.. You can use my photographs or digital ones with my sign(cat sign) and with my name. And let me know which one and when, where… Good Luck for your exciting and amazing projects. I hope and wish to find something to write…About doll, I think I understand and probably will be same size… I will try to make something for you. But just tell me what colours you like or whatever my crazy mind goes would you like it? Thank you dear, have a nice day, love, nia

        April 19, 2012 at 11:54 am

        • KC

          Anything in hot pink and black with lace or something (think Cyndi Lauper) would be awesome…and whatever your brilliant mind wants to would be awesome as well. *kiss* Did I mention lately how awesome you are? 😉 ( I’m sleep-deprived writing, btw. 2 hrs. sleep in the past 48 due to stupid eye/sinus infection…but I’m gonna get started on this, darn it!)

          *hugs*
          KC & Co.

          PS: I have a handful of pics of Cyndi in the 80’s for inspiration if you want…may I email you a few? ;:)

          April 19, 2012 at 12:36 pm

          • I understood almost… My muses working for me now 🙂
            You should sleep… Once you promised me remember about your eye problem!!!!! Thanks and Love, nia

            April 19, 2012 at 12:50 pm

          • KC

            *laughs* Yes ma’am! *hugs tight* I suppose putting it off for a handful of hours won’t hurt…and my eyes do…so yeah. I go sleep now, k thx bai! *giggles, scampers*

            KC & Co.

            April 19, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  7. artblablablablog

    Great KC! I am undertaking the ebook experience right now with the software for a book my father wrote. I am having a glitch that seems to be personal, so check out kindlewriter software. Supposed to be the best. Free 30 day download. Amazon also has a couple of books. It is basic html code tags. Please use the photo and poem you did with me, with my blessing. I don’t think it will be that hard once you get the format set up. I will try to help you if I can with questions as I am going through the same experience right now, writing and photographs for an ebook. Feel free to ask and we can both learn this stuff.

    April 19, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • KC

      Awesome sauce! *hugs* I -really- need the help. I -need- to do this…for several personal reasons, as well as the obvious. *breathes deep*

      Thank you so much for the advice, and the submission, and I’m sure I’ll be in touch with you quite a bit. >;<

      *hugs*
      KC

      PS: May I use all 5 of the pics? Of course with full credit to you. 🙂 I just had an idea for a series leading from the first one…if not, I'll just put them on the blog. 🙂

      April 19, 2012 at 11:08 am

  8. KC, I will definitely be submitting at least one long narrative poem, probably dealing with bullying endured at school BECAUSE of the child being abused at home–injured and weak calf first one attacked by the wolves idea, right? I will submit within the next 3 weeks.

    April 20, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    • *claps, hugs* Sounds awesome! That’s a great pov that hasn’t been explored as much as it should…thank you!

      KC

      April 20, 2012 at 9:29 pm

  9. Pingback: Amish living (or) a long-winded hiatus explanation plus PRIZE POEMS! « Anansi the Poet

Talk to me, people! ;)

