A poetic journey through my mind

Mission Statement (a clarification)

“I think it’s because I’m clumsy
I try not to talk too loud
Maybe it’s because I’m crazy
I try not to act too proud

They only hit until you cry
After that you don’t ask why
You just don’t argue anymore
You just don’t argue anymore
You just don’t argue anymore

Yes I think I’m okay
I walked into the door again
Well, if you ask that’s what I’ll say
And it’s not your business anyway
I guess I’d like to be alone
With nothing broken, nothing thrown”

My Name is Luca, by Suzanne Vega

This is my best try at making concrete a project that was born a month ago as a vague wish/plan with no real knowledge, and turn it into a living breathing book that will hopefully be a force in raising awarenes of the prevalence of abuse, and give the silent ones a voice that they seldom have.

Bones of Ash, Heart of Glass will be a free e-book aimed at people currently unaware/uneducated about abuse.


Many books have been published aimed at directly reaching the abused, survivors and those still hurting. Our target audience with “Bones” is those who may be aware of the problem, peripherally, but don’t know how to recognize it or to help. I want to write a page or two of signs of abuse, and resources for those willing to help, or at least reporting it.  I also want to make it clear that it is a book for adults. The graphic images, portrayal of violence, and possible angry language, while necessary to show the true horror of abuse, is not appropriate for children.

I am making it a free e-book because I feel that it maximises the possibility for distribution and thus helps in fulfilling our goal of spreading awareness. Also, an e-book is considerably less stress than a published paper book, no worries about dealing with a publisher, cost, distribution, etc.


I will be making a separate post with the exact submission guidelines as they are firmed up, but for now: any and all types of submission are welcomed. poetry, prose, picture, photo, etc. length of piece is one of the things I need to firm up. since it’s an e-book there’s less limit…but in order to keep the readers attention, they shouldn’t be novel-length 😉 as stated above, graphic images and language, uncomfortable/triggering situations, and depictions of violence will be included. we need to show the true horror of abuse, not the sanitized version the television or a published book can. on the other hand, a story that is all violence or graphic imagery with no feel for the facts of what is actually happening, will be carefully considered, but may not be accepted.

Hopefully this helps clear up the confusion I inadvertently caused. I have a tendency to assume people can read my mind. It’s a bad habit that working with all of you is helping me break! I really want this book to work, and will be putting as much of myself as I can into it…and all I ask of you is your visions/imagination. *hugs*

9 responses

  1. Phmeh…can’t tell I’m still sick, can ya? >;< I promise my grammar/spelling will be better once my brain is unfogged. *hugs*

    KC

    April 23, 2012 at 3:48 pm

  2. if you go to my blog and look at the menu bar, you’ll see “shorts.” a menu will drop down, titles of short stories. if you’d like, read the one called “boy.” i don’t know if you’d think it would fit your project. it might, might not. but if you’d like to read it, and if you think it might be good, then feel free to use it as part of your project.

    April 23, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    • Heh…that is an awesome story. I’m not sure it’d be right for the book…darn it. Just a little too light. Very well written, especially the very-last-word twist ending. Thanks for the offer, I really appreciate it!
      KC

      April 23, 2012 at 5:44 pm

      • i figured it wouldn’t work, but i wanted to offer just in case. thanks for reading it.

        April 23, 2012 at 5:58 pm

  3. I believe you’re fulfilling your mission, but don’t get anxious because everything has its time and season ~remain true to yourself and diligent and miracles will bloom! I’ve no doubt friend ~In friendship ~Deborah

    April 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • *hugs* Thanks…I do have a tendency to work toward “instant” gratification. Old, old, old habit…comes of having no real emotional security as a child. If stuff doesn’t happen -now- it will never happen…the longer it takes, the more can go wrong and make it go away. *sighs* I’m working on that…among so many other things. 🙂 Thanks again for the support. I know it’ll get it done…I just have to believe that I’m the one who can do it. That’s the hard part.

      KC

      PS: I don’t know if you believe in fortune telling…I use it as a way to focus my own thoughts on a problem…and the one I got today said something to the effect of “You’re going to have to be a strong leader very soon…although you’re used to being a follower, you have to believe you can do it…” Hrrm. 😉

      April 23, 2012 at 5:51 pm

      • KC~ we’re all Followers & Leaders in our own areas since we each have diversity of gifts, talents, abilities and opportunities ~what makes the difference [in my perception] is being true to that inner voice we can always turn in to, if we wish], that’s our choice and, the more you listen & ACT on its instruction, I guarantee you will meet not only your goals but the doors that are shut now, will blow open! Be diligent Dear, step by step. YOUR heart is in the right place as is your motivations so, in my book, you’ve already won 2 huge battles 🙂 I’ll pray for you ~ALWAYS in your corner! Cheering you on, Deborah

        April 23, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  4. Wonderful idea. I used to work for a local council and we all had mandatory child protection courses, about how to recognise signs of abuse and what to do. Some things were common sense – but some things were completely surprising (and heartbreaking). I hope I can contribute something, and in any case look forward to hearing how this project develops.

    April 24, 2012 at 2:56 am

  5. Wonderful project–I am composing a poem in my head to submit and will do so when the guidelines are in place.

    May 2, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

