A poetic journey through my mind

Tree

Image

spread my mind and guard my soul,
the me that is and always will be,
help my roots grow deep and wide,
and may you always shelter me.

may you dance with every wind,
delight the eye with every sway,
train my mind to hear and teach,
the wisdom you impart each day.

take my voice to be your song,
through street and inner-city school,
let your shelter shade the mind,
temper heat with dappled cool.

take my words to sing your praise,
and fill the ear with endless green,
until their hearts can grow again,
until their life and yours run clean.


17 responses

  1. I like this very much.
    Trees fascinate me…I think of them as having personalities and your poem fits that theme as I read it …thank you.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    May 13, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    • KC

      Definitely. And thank you. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 2:57 pm

  2. Wow, KC, this is fantastic. The analogies you make with the tree are pretty amazing to me. I didn’t intend for that to rhyme, but, oh well. I really enjoyed this poem.

    May 13, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    • KC

      Heh, thanks. Glad you liked it. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

  3. Of course I love this 🙂 Tree 🙂

    May 13, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    • KC

      I thought you might…wait till you see the ones at the Sanctuary, though…whew. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 2:59 pm

  4. “take my words to sing your praise,
    and fill the ear with endless green,
    until their hearts can grow again,
    until their life and yours run clean.”

    These lines fascinated me dear Kyotzeta, what a beautiful poetical spirit you have. Thank you, have a nice new week, with my love, nia

    May 14, 2012 at 8:08 am

    • KC

      *hugz* Hello there, you! I’m glad you liked it! I just kept picturing kids/teens/adults in the worst of the city, blood/soul turning black with mental/emotional pollution…and then a green river of leaves/water/wind pouring in through their ears with the song, and sweeping through the veins, clearing them out. 🙂

      May 16, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  5. This sounds almost like a pagan poem – makes me want to repeat it each morning as I walk under the trees.

    May 14, 2012 at 9:06 am

    • KC

      “…sounds almost like a pagan poem…” Is that a good thing or a bad thing? Well either way, I’ll tell you that’s -exactly- what it is…a chant, in my head, that I wrote to one tree in particular. *hugs* Glad you liked it!

      May 16, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  6. artblablablablog

    This is beautiful, so very beautiful. I hope your spirits are good again, you have such a beautiful heart.

    May 14, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    • KC

      Thank you. I think it’s a little bit red and squishy, myself, but to each his own. 😉

      Seriously, I’m glad you liked it. *hugs*

      May 16, 2012 at 3:08 pm

  7. I am very impressed with this poem. I love trees so much,all the time, everywhere! I particularly loved these two lines:”take my words to sing your praise, and fill the ear with endless green”–how affirming,how life-enhancing!

    May 14, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    • KC

      I’m glad you liked it. I was hoping for something of the sort. As long as that Oak had stood there, I knew it had a story to tell, and that appeared to be that. *hugs*

      May 16, 2012 at 3:10 pm

  8. Stupendous message and gentle melody! THANK you KC~Sincerely Deborah

    May 14, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    • KC

      Thank -you- for hearing the tree-song in it! *hugs* Glad you liked it!

      May 16, 2012 at 3:11 pm

  9. I love trees, and i especially like this lovely tree song!

    June 12, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

