A poetic journey through my mind

Doug Baldauf #1

(*pouts*  Dougs poems are uniquely shaped, some lines out, some under, etc. Unfortunately I don’t seem to have the tech./html knowledge to make WP do the formatting correctly, so we’ll just have to settle for this.  🙂 )

 

Dedication

 

For Larry, the kids, the cats,

and me.

For our good times,

our awful times.

For the times when no castle built

could be big enough.

For the times when our tiny den

by the fire

is just right.

For the laughter, the learning,

the fighting and forgiving.

But especially for the love

we have

while growing up together

under one roof.

 

The First Poem

 

Barefoot on warm sidewalks

I’ve hop scotched

through more than thirty summers

And thought that daffodils

invented the color yellow

for as many springs.

Up to my knees in leaves

through autumns

I’ve wandered

till I’ve landed

breathless

in winters bed

to make angels in the snow.

 

So many things I’ve done and seen

in all my seasons

but Christmas Eve I found just once

in a pair of eyes.

 

From “Barefoot on Warm Sidewalks” by Doug Baldauf, c. 1975

4 responses

  1. KC

    Oh, and to clarify…Doug is a woman. And yes, her name is Douglas. Not sure the story behind that, as my grandparents are both dead so can’t be asked. My mom thinks she remembers something about her parents (Dougs) wanting her to have an equal chance in the world, which, if true, says something fascinating both about them, and the era. 🙂

    June 6, 2012 at 3:09 am

    • Thanks for sharing these wonderful poems, and the fascinating additional info.

      June 7, 2012 at 4:34 pm

  2. Fascinated me… Thank you dear Kyotzeta, especially the poem “Dedication”… Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    June 6, 2012 at 3:53 am

  3. that is exquisite KC thanks for sharing!! XX

    June 7, 2012 at 4:09 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

