A poetic journey through my mind

Endemic to the Species

Attitude, prejudice, rumour and lies,

disdain radiates from bright painted eyes,

crossed arms and tapping feet, a language unread 

that poisons the air with words left unsaid,

laughter with ill intent, anger for fun,

cliques form and break like ice in the sun,

whispers and secrets and rumours and pain,

it circles around me again and again, 

as I watch it go by, my eyes see the truth,

the name on the signboard, “The Carousel of Youth”

9 responses

  1. WOW! I read this poem breathlessy… wonderful poetical sound and touches. Thank you, dear Kyotzeta, love, nia

    June 7, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    • KC

      Heh. Glad you liked it, CG. Missed you, y’know. *hugs* Gonna sit down and go through all your pretty pictures one of these nights…be prepared for a -ton- of comments. ;p

      June 8, 2012 at 12:06 am

  2. that’s a really well put together poem, I have to admit I like rhyme and rhythm. Why carousel of youth? Is it about young people particularly?

    June 11, 2012 at 4:36 am

    • KC

      Thanks. 😉 Technically it’s about immaturity represented by gossip, drama, non-communication, and exclusivity and social prejudice for popularity’s sake, and the inability of people to step off the “carousel” and see it for the repetitive, pointless thing it is. So, yes and no.

      From my perspective as a 42 yr. old lifelong misfit who was generally on the wrong end of all that mess, it does seem to be an issue that young (college-aged and younger) people tend to have…but in that/those cases, it’s a necessary (if frustrating) phase of life, thus the title. 😉 It’s when people just keep on riding that same old carousel, getting older and older and still not realizing, that it becomes a problem. *sighs*

      Mind, there -are- people, young and old, who never took that ride in the first place. Not from being on the wrong side of it, but simply from seeing it as it was at the time and making the conscious decision to have nothing to do with it. I admire that, but for me…it was just a matter of being so sick and tired I just couldn’t take it anymore, and pretty much just stepped out of the park entirely, which is an unproductive/unhealthy response. I’m working on getting back in the game/park, but it’s taken me from 21’ish to 42. >;<

      I guess what I'm saying is that I wrote the above not as an accusation, but as I write anything…a word picture of something I want others to see the way I have learned to. Does that make sense? 🙂

      June 11, 2012 at 7:00 am

      • Yeah, it makes sense. I never really got into all that gossip stuff – too much the outsider to be even asked to participate, plus I get concentrating on things and don’t notice what people are saying about each other, luckily. But I do see what you mean, and I think it’s very well put.

        June 11, 2012 at 8:56 am

        • KC

          🙂 I was always too nosy to not notice, but too shy to say anything. Bad combo. >;<

          Thanks for the encouragement on the Spoken Word idea, too. I need all the poking/prodding I can get in that area. My voice, recorded, is one of my biggest Ewww-buttons. *shudders* In my mind, I sound normal…then I talk and I either sound like my baby sister, or as I like to call her "Minnie-Mouse on Helium"…or like my baby sister aka MMOH after smoking 10 packs a day for 40 yrs….depending on whether my acid reflux is acting up or not. 😉

          June 11, 2012 at 9:28 am

  3. KC

    Just out of curiousity, would anyone be interested in seeing me read this one as Spoken Word? I’m trying to get over a crippling fear of public speaking, and someone suggested reading on video might be the answer, as then it can be done as many times as it takes till I’m “satisfied” with it, and I don’t have to physically be there when it’s watched. This one is one that would work as SW, and I’ll likely do a version just for myself…but if anyone’s interested I can post it on here, as well. 😉

    June 11, 2012 at 7:06 am

    • I would! I’ve been thinking of doing something similar and have the same worries.

      June 11, 2012 at 7:53 am

  4. Genius ! Thanks so muuuch! Your passion is contagious!1 ~`Sincerely Deborah

    June 11, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

