A poetic journey through my mind

Poem

The deviant moon shines up above,

The paper lies naked before me,

I call to the words that lay all about,

But they only laugh, and ignore me.

I coax and cajole, I whine and I beg,

I promise them ice cream, or candy,

I throw temper fits, I scream and I hit,

Beat my head onto anything handy.

Finally, finally, they rise and they stretch,

And lazily saunter toward me,

And one after one, they crawl onto the page,

Like a present they brought to reward me.

I shake my head, sigh, and shift them around,

Like a puzzle, link one to another,

Obedient now, they slip into place,

Each one lying next to its brother.

I pet and I praise them, each adverb and noun,

I treat them with care and with love,

As they lie on the paper, so proud and so true,

And the deviant moon shines above.

 

One response

  1. You have such a charming way with words! I love this poem!

    June 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

