A poetic journey through my mind

Doug Baldauf #4, Musings

MEMORY BOOK

Remember the girl of sixteen

who smiled at you because she liked you

and you smiled back?

You were handsome and tan and twenty-one

with amber eyes

and a Mercury convertible

And someone said you beat everyone at tennis.

I worshiped the ground where you had stood,

as only a girl of sixteen could,

and called it love.

As many summers have come and gone since then

as I had lived

and the girl got left behind somewhere

in a memory book of you and other heroes

with forgotten names.

And in that time I’ve been with you

and come to know you well

I’ve seen behind the amber eyes

and found a gentle man

who beats almost everyone at tennis.

The Mercury convertible

brought three babies home from the hospital

before it fell asleep one day for good.

Your once dark hair is streaked with gray

I’m sure I caused

and still I smile at you

and you smile back

and know I love you.

 

 

 

TEA FOR TWENTY, RAINY DAY

Painter of pictures

Dreamer of dreams

Writer down of soft words

Child-woman

Lover

Mother

Present giver

Flower grower

Cheerer up of sad friends

Funky junk collector person

Smiler into camera person

Comer into living rooms

I’ll never ever see

Beach walker

Peace maker

Tennis playing cookie baker

Life of the party

Feeder of birds

Complex and uncomplicated,

Stable and insane,

Through the window rain watcher

Wonderer who I am.

3 responses

  1. amazing pair. what a blessing it is to be with your first true love. hope this union is blessed every day in millionfolds.

    July 5, 2012 at 7:23 am

  2. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    July 12, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    • KC

      Heh. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. Our tourism board will be glad to hear it! ;p

      BTW, you know the tourist critter in Lake Tahoe, Tahoe Tessie? My uncle, Robert McCormick, invented/created her. Just an interesting note. 😉

      July 12, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

