A poetic journey through my mind

Loss (trigger warning: death)

The death of a child, a fruit torn from the tree,
A desperate phrase, a common refrain,
“That’s not the way it’s supposed to be!”
It echoes through time, a howl of pain.

For parents, each twig is a limb
that branches off into forever,
and when it’s lost, that light gone dim,
forever dies off into never.

Never to see that tree grown tall,
with leaves and branches proudly grown,
forever to feel that wrenching fall,
the loss in heart, and soul, and bone.

11 responses

  1. Unless you have lost a child no matter aone da or 41 years you will never be able to describe the loss and the emotions that does to you. Please read my posts under the grief catagory to see what I mean. myownheartme.com

    July 23, 2012 at 5:41 am

    • sorry that is myownheart.me

      July 23, 2012 at 5:41 am

      • KC

        I’m sorry. My dad said that when my 32 yr. old brother was murdered. “My boy is dead…that’s not how it’s supposed to be…”…and then I keep hearing it, on television and songs…exactly the same words…I apologize if it seemed as if I was trivializing or something. I write about a -lot- of things I’ve never felt, and hope I never do, and this is one of them. I have no children, and will never have, so I’ve not felt the depth of that loss personally, only second-hand…and I know that’s not enough. 😦

        July 23, 2012 at 7:59 am

  2. Truly, truly the worst sorrow in this life is losing a child to death–no matter the cause! Aching for ALL parents who have lost children! Thank you for reminding us of the great need to support and love these bereaved parents!

    July 23, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    • KC

      *hugs*

      July 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

  3. I can relate.

    July 23, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    • KC

      *hugs tightly*

      July 24, 2012 at 4:59 am

  4. BEAUTIFUL in its simplicity of language where language almost has no place in expressing such a heavy loss! Blessings dear~ Deborah

    July 23, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    • KC

      The language almost -has- to be simple, the reflection on the surface of the bottomless black lake that is grief. The depths are too painful to revisit, but you can share your particular “reflection” with others and sometimes take comfort in that. *hugs*

      July 24, 2012 at 5:06 am

  5. Yes, it would be the worst possible thing.

    July 24, 2012 at 12:48 am

    • KC

      It is quite literally unnatural for us. Parent/child love is one of the strongest and deepest loves, and the loss of that, whether sudden or prolonged, goes against our very natures. Please please please don’t take the above sentiment as trivializing, or making light of the issue. I just want people…parents…to know that the depth of loss they’re experiencing is universal, while at the same time unique to each individual. *hugs*

      July 24, 2012 at 5:20 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

