A poetic journey through my mind

Imagination

where does it go when it flies far away,
where has it gone off to scamper and play,
when it starts to get dark, at the end of the day,
how can you call it back home?

where does it go, down a glass mountain stream,
or under the mountain, where the dragons breathe steam,
or somewhere even further, with the Being of Seem,
even though it’s time to come home?

or maybe up high where the thin branches sway,
or up in a nest, with the eaglets, to play,
or playing come-chase-me with the last flitting ray,
stretching out for that last bit of roam…

But the branches slow down, soft and softer they sway,
And the eaglets curl up, in their warm nest of hay,
And the sunbeams rest softly for the coming new day,
And they whisper “It’s time to go home!”

And the stream’s singing softly, a soft lullaby,
and the dragons snore sweetly in the caves as they lie,
and the Being stands tall, to turn off the sky,
For he knows that it’s time to come home.

So homeward it races, when it hears what is said,
and slips through the window to its own little head,
to lay it down soft on its own little bed,
and I smile, and I welcome it home.

8 responses

  1. KC that was a fantastic trip of imagination. It took me skipping and sliding through a magical fairytale landscape before going home to slip inside your head. Brilliantly written thank you. 😉 xx

    September 12, 2012 at 7:52 am

    • KC

      Thank you! I’m doubly lucky, as I get to see it all as I write it, and then again, as I imagine -you- see it! 😉

      September 13, 2012 at 8:13 am

      • Yes writing is such fun. I agree x

        September 17, 2012 at 12:59 am

      • Yes writing is such fun. I agree x

        September 17, 2012 at 12:59 am

  2. Sisyphus47

    Those words sing to me :-*

    September 12, 2012 at 11:00 am

    • KC

      Thank you very much! I wanted to hit just that lyrical note, that bubbly feeling, and then bring it home with calming sounds and lullabies.

      September 13, 2012 at 8:19 am

  3. Me thinks my soul bops about like this and then comes home to rest at end of day! Wonderfully evocative post here, KC!

    September 12, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    • KC

      Knowing you as much as I can, through your words, I am certain that it doesl I can see you curled up in the lap of the Being, telling Him stories of the little ones!

      🙂

      September 13, 2012 at 8:23 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

