A poetic journey through my mind

The Gift

hummingbird thoughts flicker and dart,
jewel-bright bits of magic and art,
in the dark shadowed places, in the contemplative grove,
o’er the turquoise-blue waves of a tropical cove,
in dark stormy weather and mad lashings of fear,
they sparkle and dance and shine without peer.
and when i am desperate, furious, or numb,
just when i fear to the depths i’ll succumb,
when i cry out from deep in the canyon of night,
suddenly twinkles a tiny bright light,
then two, and then more, they sparkle and play
till my storm darkened mind grows bright as the day
and laughing, i spin in my own rainbow dance,
and with joy and new hope take this god-given chance.
the words that pour out of my soul and my heart
are as shining and bright as the jewels that dart,
and i think to myself and i hope as i write
that the words will fly out and rekindle a light
and dance for a time in some lonely heart,
my jewel-bright bits of magic and art.

Talk to me, people! ;)

