A poetic journey through my mind

Dreams

sighing, settling, breathing out old ghosts and new, scent of resin seeping from ancient boards, new blood from the long dead.

here is a sound…sigh of a contented waking yawn. a childs soft wail in the deep of night. the quiet squeak of a stairstep under stealthy foot.

here a feeling…the deep frightened love of a new mother. the soft velvet of a summer midnight. a shiver of window frost melting beneath tiny fingertips.

there an odor…surprise french-toast for mothers day. the sharpness of a dandelion freshly picked by clumsy but loving fingers. the dry sharp smell of laundry day.

even tastes…attic explorations, a cough of dust and cardboard. icy slice of winter morning through a quickly opened door. holiday dinners, layered one over the other in a pastiche of family.

and the sights…thin black-and-white bars of shadow on a pretty pastel wall. a trail of colorful boots, wet backpack, half inside-out jacket, across a clean kitchen floor. and a moment of sleepy fright and confusion, eyes meeting mirrored eyes across a dusky hallway.

all these and more seep and stew, melding present to future, phantoms of possibility and past. the house dreams…

 

(written in response to this prompt, to which I hopped by way of Marousia‘s nifty blog. )  🙂

 

12 responses

  1. Oh…this is a brilliant play to the image! Love the language…I’m completely wrapped up in the feel of my grandma’s old house…the antiques, the mystery, and the ghosts of memories…so very happy you decided to play along!

    October 11, 2012 at 10:28 am

    • KC

      Heh. I’m actually kinda happy with this one myself…been running a bit dry recently, so it was nice to get a good slice of inspiration. *grins* I’ve decided that I need to pick a prompt a day for a week, and see what happens. Stick around and find out? 😉

      October 11, 2012 at 11:07 am

  2. Absolutely beautiful Kyot! I could feel you in that piece! Loved it…..
    —Felicia

    October 11, 2012 at 10:28 am

    • KC

      Thanks. *hugs* Yeah, lots of me in there. The best ones do. 😉

      October 11, 2012 at 11:05 am

  3. As a reader, I bring my own world into the writing. With that, the writing becomes a sad walk of loss through what used to be and will probably never be again. Beautiful writing.

    October 11, 2012 at 11:09 am

    • KC

      Mrr. *hugs teh bunny* True, though…every reader sees their own facet of the writing. It’s why I love to write. I love thinking of all the different perspectives flowing together into the collective unconscious. Thought soup! 🙂

      October 11, 2012 at 11:13 am

      • Yousei Hime

        Yep, exactly. One of my favorite things about poetry for sure. Not sure that it is quite as easy to adjust the recipe for fiction. 🙂 *wiggling nose and rubbing ears*

        October 11, 2012 at 11:16 am

        • KC

          (( *grumbles* collective -sub- conscious, even. *sighs* Wake up, brain! ))

          October 11, 2012 at 11:23 am

  4. Oh I felt the house, the people, the sounds, the memories and more
    Glad you joined in for the Wednesday Wake Up Call
    ~ an aside … When I took the photograph of the girl, I felt old memories (I wish I had written the story that she first evoked.) Your piece may help bring back the original (archived)story
    So glad to meet you!!!

    October 11, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    • KC

      🙂 Thank you for taking the picture that helped me write about it! As I was saying below, I’ve been on a bit of a dry streak lately, and your pic was so cool…right away I wanted to jump to something creepy/scary/bad, but I reined it in and looked behind it, and that’s what I found. I think I like it better than the scary one, although I may write that one later. :p Oh, and nice to meet you, too! *hugs*

      October 12, 2012 at 10:51 pm

  5. I love this…the house dreams. There is so much life past and present in a home and you mixed them together in such a creative manner.

    October 12, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    • KC

      Thanks! We moved a lot when I was young, because we were Navy brats, and every time we moved to a new place I had to do a thorough “inspection”, detailing all the nifty little secrets I wanted to explore. I always picked my room (when I got the chance) not for size or location or anything, but as the one that felt the most. Where the feelings were strongest. So yeah, I love the way houses store…well, everything! 😉

      October 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

