A poetic journey through my mind

Little Girl Lost

Little girl lost, I fell through a hole,
my sanity serving to pay the toll,
my name they took to serve as well,
and all that’s left is an empty shell.
They call me “girl” and stroke my hair,
they strip my soul and body bare,
they feed me lies and pretty words,
and filter past in nightmare herds,
the faces blurring in my head,
mourners for the not-quite-dead.
my casket is as soft as silk,
my skin they keep as white as milk,
they brush my hair and whisper lies,
they turn their heads, avoid my eyes,
they pose the body carefully,
the pieces that are left of me
perform throughout the endless night,
and then lie still at mornings light,
a battered doll with broken strings,
a bird with torn and shackled wings.

8 responses

  1. WoW. Intense. Thank you for sharing.
    Memorable words.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

    October 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    • KC

      Thanks, I’m glad it made an impression. 😉

      October 22, 2012 at 11:11 pm

  2. You made me stop you made think you touched my feelings and made me cry wonderful poem. I really like the imagry.

    October 17, 2012 at 4:18 am

    • KC

      *claps* Yay! Those are exactly the things I try to make -all- my things do…although maybe not all at the same time. 😉

      October 22, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  3. A nightmare couched in innocent, childish words.

    October 17, 2012 at 5:33 am

    • KC

      Yes. Very much so. Broken innocence is still innocence, just not very useful…like a broken marble. >;<

      October 22, 2012 at 11:14 pm

  4. It’s a strong, well written poem.

    October 23, 2012 at 5:28 am

    • KC

      🙂 Thank you.

      October 23, 2012 at 11:37 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

