A poetic journey through my mind

Kava (a se/prequel)

I sit up on the hill and watch until the fireworks fade, one hand idly twirling my ID badge on its distinctive red-white-and-blue lanyard.

Once the last sparkles have fallen into the lake, and the fire crews nearly have the blaze under control, I pull my worn and tattered little black book out of my pack. I remove the knotted rubber bands that hold the cover shut against the straining within, and carefully open it to one particular page.

With a grin, I take the worn stub of pencil from behind my ear, and make a checkmark next to “Fireworks Technician”. One more off the list. Then, carefully placing my ID badge (sans lanyard) between the pages, I reclose the little book and replace it in my pack, which I then throw over my shoulder.

Leaving the lanyard behind, tied in a pretty bow around the box of sprinklers I’d used to set the blaze, I turn my nose toward the moon, and set off in Her direction once again. Wonder what’s next…

4 responses

  1. KC

    Sheeesh. So I’ve noticed I seem to have a thing with run-on sentences. Or maybe too many commas. Anyone have any idea how I can work on that? 😉

    January 8, 2013 at 8:32 am

  2. this is a great idea KC. ticking off another job in his book, another chapter in the series.

    January 8, 2013 at 11:17 am

  3. and WOW! youve used a TRG tag! awesome 🙂

    January 8, 2013 at 11:18 am

  4. can’t wait to hear!

    January 8, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

