A poetic journey through my mind

Hard Times (for Friday Fictioneers photo prompt)

copyright-roger-cohen

Being an empath is hard. Harder still, standing here. Those strings have played more feeling than the world is still capable of, and all I want to do is crawl into those memories, those times, good times and bad, and curl up forever, try to live in them, and not here.  Not here, in the cold, waiting for the auction to start.  Waiting for my heart to break.

Yeah, being an empath is hard…

(With all due credit to Spider Robinson, who taught me more about music and empathy in his books than anyone ever has in life.  Also life, hope, joy, sadness, laughter, friends, family…thank you, Spider and Jeanne.  Written for the Friday Fictioneers, like it says above, but it won’t let me link in a title, so here’s the link.  ;p)

31 responses

  1. Seems like a good poetic job! Nice!

    January 10, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    • KC

      Thank you. I try to put things as a picture or emotion, and I think this one got both pretty well…*blushes*…if I do say so myself. Sheesh. Ego much? >.<

      January 11, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  2. It would be hard to feel everything, that’s for sure!

    January 10, 2013 at 9:08 pm

    • KC

      Yeah…this one, while not exactly autobiographical, was definitely written from experience…not the auction bit, the empath part. Especially when you don’t know how to turn it off. It’s like someone took your eyelids right off, and you can never shut them… *shrugs* But like everything else, you learn to live with it. 🙂

      January 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

  3. Spider…. of Calahan’s crosstime saloon? Way cool! I love his work.

    January 10, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    • KC

      And every other series he’s ever written…*nods* I was so sad when Jeanne died. They were a great writing team…and you could tell they -really- loved each other…it wasn’t just surface, like some people. Thanks, for the acknowledgement. Spider Robinson is in my top 5 writers…in order, Charles DeLint, Spider Robinson, Terry Pratchett, Mercedes Lackey (what can I say, I’m a girl. ;p) and last but by no means least, Robert Heinlein. Of course there are zillions more than that, but those are the ones I read and re-read and come away with something different -every- time…I can almost quote most of the Callahan series by now. *g*

      January 11, 2013 at 2:53 pm

      • I loved Heinlein, and especially enjoyed Larry Niven.

        January 11, 2013 at 3:02 pm

        • KC

          yeah…although niven is right up there with asimov for me…a little too deep and guy-like. too serious, i guess i mean. 😉

          January 11, 2013 at 10:12 pm

  4. A nostalgic piece – enjoyed it. Thank you.

    January 11, 2013 at 2:43 am

    • KC

      Thank you! The pic just seemed so sad, to me…I think they’re safe, in a museum (you can just see the tag), but it still seemed sad that they weren’t going to speak ever again.

      January 11, 2013 at 2:55 pm

  5. What, exactly, is the “empath” in this story? Is it someone able to detect past emotion linked to an object?

    January 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    • KC

      Feel pretty much all emotion…and past emotions from -those- objects because they were his. Memories of emotions experienced can sometimes be as strong as current ones.

      If you need an explanation of an empath in general, that’s easy. People who can feel strong emotion around them, and in some cases, can’t help feeling them. A general “explanation” is called hyper-sensitivity, the theory that people who have bad things happen early on learn to read body language almost instinctively to protect themselves. I think that’s a part of it, at least for me, personally, but doesn’t explain how I can’t -stop- feeling things. *shrugs*

      Besides all that, it’s fiction. Used a lot in sci-fi, fantasy, etc. But you probably know all that. Just blabbering, like I do. 🙂

      January 11, 2013 at 11:21 pm

  6. Emotion, music and empathy all go together beautifully; I don’t believe you could be a really great musician withough empathy so nicely done 🙂

    January 12, 2013 at 5:07 am

    • KC

      Thank you. I agree. Of course, I don’t know how anyone can be any sort of artist without it, so there’s that. 😉

      January 12, 2013 at 5:11 am

      • that’s very true 🙂

        January 12, 2013 at 5:15 am

      • I agree with you, both my body and mind are going crazy, my mind is so visual, sieneg such possibilities for every one all the time, and my soul is feeling an uplifting. My body is in pain because it can’t calm down, and the people coming on my show are all teaches of self and spirit in all walks of our life.It is exciting invigorating and tiring all at once.But wow what a world we are becoming so hopeful so opening so enlightened.

        April 9, 2013 at 4:38 am

  7. I liked how you recreate the feeling for those instruments.

    January 12, 2013 at 11:12 am

    • KC

      Thank you. I just feel that any instrument as old as those were pretty much has to have so many memories “stored” in them..and so much more so for the musician who was with them all those years. 🙂

      KC

      January 12, 2013 at 11:28 am

  8. strong emotion here. I was feeling it.

    January 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    • KC

      Thank you. 🙂 That’s one of the things I strive for in everything I write, prose, poetry, or story. Emotion can be good, bad, humor, sadness, pity…or all that…but if it is felt, it will be remembered. Most of my “social consciousness” poems are of strong subjects, strong emotions. Difficult to read, difficult to think about…but people are aware, and they feel, and they remember.

      Heh, sorry…caught me at a philosophical moment, I guess. 😉

      January 13, 2013 at 3:54 pm

      • if you can make your reader feel the emotion, you are there. it’s important.

        January 13, 2013 at 3:55 pm

        • KC

          Thank you again. Guess I needed to hear that. I tend to belittle my work like I belittle myself, but you’re right. It’s important to have the feelings, it’s important to share them, and it’s important to…preserve them, in some way, so that more people can feel them. 🙂

          January 13, 2013 at 4:04 pm

  9. Dear KC,

    You peel back the layers of your character’s personna right away and we are deep inside, feeling emotions that normally take writer’s a while to uncover, if ever. Very good job. Looking forward to much more.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    January 14, 2013 at 1:17 am

    • KC

      *blushes* Thank you, Cap’n! It was just one of those “dropped whole into my mind” sorta things. Not self-deprecating, just that I have a few of those, and they tend to be my best work. If I try to force something, insist on a rhyme or a story I just can’t get, it just won’t be right. Btw, your comments last week pretty much made my week. *zen-hugs* 🙂

      January 14, 2013 at 1:24 am

  10. not an empath! well done.

    January 14, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    • KC

      Thx! *lix*. And in case I forgot to mention it, yay for seeing you again! You make me giggle. ;p

      January 14, 2013 at 11:25 pm

      • i do? how?

        January 15, 2013 at 7:10 am

        • KC

          Just generally clever comments with an obvious sense of humor. 😉

          January 15, 2013 at 7:14 am

          • my head is already two sizes too big. feel free to make it worse. working for me!

            January 15, 2013 at 7:16 am

          • KC

            *giggles* See? ;p. just try not to stand too close when your head gets so big it explodes…I have enough ego, I don’t n

            January 15, 2013 at 7:24 am

          • KC

            Anyone else’s all over me. 🙂

            January 15, 2013 at 7:26 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

