A poetic journey through my mind

Brother Mine (#2 in the River series)

brother mine, still standing tall,
though your back’s against the wall,
for the sake of what I’ve been
you will not let the evil win.

when we were young, and only two,
for questions I would look to you,
and when I passed you, won the race,
nothing but gladness filled your face.

and when to school I finally went,
you couldn’t know how much it meant,
to have you there, a paper guard,
even when the times got…hard.

even when the needles flew,
the wires and the hands of blue.
when I called, you came to me,
and at high cost you set me free.

you gave to me what could have been,
the world you worked so hard to win,
for sake of me, you crossed the line…
and sacrificed your life for mine.

4 responses

  1. I have been here before. I recognize the wood. I must gotten lost somewhere. I like the poem very much.

    January 13, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    • KC

      Yes, yes you have. 😉 And I missed you. But it’s not your fault. A lot of my regulars went poof, even some I thought of as friends, right about the time I mentioned that I self-identify as Unitarian Universalist. So it got really quiet around here. I’m working on that. *zen-hugs* 🙂

      January 14, 2013 at 1:37 am

      • What the heck is Unitarian Universalist? :-: Must have missed that one. You know better than to confess religion … or the absence thereof. Anything “Universal” has my vote, however. I’ll have to come around to find out what trouble you’ve gotten yourself into! Chuckling here. 😉

        January 14, 2013 at 1:43 am

        • KC

          Meh. It’s my blog and I am what I am and if people don’t/didn’t like it too bad for them. They’ll miss a lot of fabulous poems and stories. ;p

          As for UU, it’s basically a church that supports and any and all religions, people, lifestyles, etc. I’m so weird that I don’t fit in almost anywhere, but I do
          there.

          KC

          January 14, 2013 at 1:51 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

