A poetic journey through my mind

For Rowan, on her Fourth birthday

“…and though she be but little, she is fierce.”  William Shakespeare, “Midsummer Nights Dream”

little wonder, precious child,

tiny princess, sweet and wild,

silly angel, rainbow pearl,

oldest sister, great big girl,

all these are the things you are,

but not all that you will, by far,

for as you grow and reach so high,

one day you will reach the sky,

and spread your branches over all,

my Rowan tree, so strong and tall.

I love you, baby-girl…Image

 

6 responses

  1. Delightful ! And she’s a real cutie pie ! Thanks for sharing.☺

    January 26, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    • KC

      Thanks…she’s the most beautiful thing in my life, even though she’s not in my life anymore. She lives with her mother out in Sacramento. I was literally the first person after the doctor to touch her, and since I lived with her and her mother (my bff at the time…until I made her angry and scared and had to leave. 😦 ) for the first two years of her life, it almost feels like she was part mine. I’ve been away from her for two years this April, and couldn’t help writing this and sending the link to her mom. I hope she’ll forgive me enough to at least read it to her. :\

      January 26, 2013 at 5:52 pm

  2. OH! so beautiful!!!

    January 27, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    • KC

      *hugs*

      January 27, 2013 at 6:27 pm

  3. Precious poem for a sweet young sapling. Save it to share with her later.

    January 28, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • KC

      *hugs* That’s what it’s looking like is going to happen, like it or not…so might as well go with like. 🙂

      January 29, 2013 at 12:03 am

Talk to me, people! ;)

