A poetic journey through my mind

Fiction Relay Part 22

Meanwhile, down on the winding road that leads to the cabin, a slim figure zips quietly on a sleek, dark motorcycle that seems to purr, rather than roar. Suddenly the rider begins to veer, dangerously, and quickly pulls to the side of the road. Thumbing a toggle switch in the helmet, she speaks urgently into the mouthpiece. β€œGet me Sanderson…one of Them is gone.”

Suzi’s relief was quickly squashed by the look in Melissa’s eyes, as she repeated herself in an almost bemused tone. “He always liked you best…” Still holding on to the sharp, shiny object with which she’d killed Raj, she stared at Suzi. Suzi was now shuddering in terror, still bound to the table, helpless, as she knew she couldn’t ‘port out of ties.

Moving closer, Melissa put one shaking hand onto Raj’s still cooling flank…and with a quick movement, shoved the lifeless body onto the floor on the far side of the table.

Hearing the soft wet thud sent Suzi over the edge, down and down until only Meagan was left. Her eyes blurred until she could barely see Melissa’s mad face above her… and her eyes…they weren’t really glowing, were they? Her body convulsed, the rope bonds tearing at her fragile skin, while the cooling blood that covered her added to the cold that seemed to be deep inside.

In a low, frighteningly cheerful voice, Melissa said “Now look what you made me do…” The bright shiny edge of the knife glinted even through the blur in Meagan’s eyes…and as it came slashing down, she shrieked in terror…and ported.

The only thought in her head was “somewhere safe…somewhere safe…someone…”

Out on the trail, moving as quickly as possible in the dark, Sam followed Ephraim toward the cave. All his attention on finding Suzi, hoping that she was safe, he almost fell as he ran straight into Ephraim, standing stock still in front of him. “What’s going on?” he whispered, but all he got in reply was Ephraim’s hand flashing up in the symbol for “Wait!”

Ephraim had been moving as quickly as possible ahead of Sam, when a stronger than usual strike of pain heralded a vision coming on. Images flashed through his mind…a pair of somehow familiar mad eyes, a gush of blood, Raj’s face staring into his, a look of triumph on it. Just as he was able to see the path again, and about to rush to the cave, he heard (and –heard–) a terrified shriek and stumbled, almost dropping the blood covered, naked form of Suzi who suddenly appeared in his arms.

She looked up at him through her blood matted hair, and immediately scrambled up him, climbing him like a child would until her arms locked around him and her face was buried in the crook of his neck. She moaned under her breath, clinging and fighting as he tried desperately to untangle her, to find out how badly she was hurt.

Sam leaned in, once, trying to help, but at his touch she shrieked in terror once more, fighting even harder to cling to Ephraim. Using all the discipline at his control, he stepped back, hands clenching into fists at his sides. Watching Ephraim fight to control the hysterical Meagan, nails grinding into his palm, he was startled to hear himself speak…quietly at first, then once he realized what he was saying, louder, so that Ephraim could hear. “It’s not hers…the blood, it’s not hers!”

Ephraim turned his head toward Sam, hearing the urgency in his voice if not the actual content. “What?”

Sam raised his voice, almost shouting. “She’s not hurt! Some rope burn, and whatever…happened to her…but no actual wounds!” At Ephraim’s skeptical glance, Sam moved his gaze to Meagan and began to list her wounds in an almost clinical tone of voice.

“…right wrist, severe rope burn, possible muscle damage. I can See it, Ephraim! I can See her…just like the boxes!”

Ephraim frowned, but allowed the still struggling Meagan to wrap herself around him again, trying his best to use his jacket to cover her. He accepted the coat Sam handed him with a nod of thanks, wrapping the shivering girl in it. “We still have to get her to the cabin, at least.”

Sam nodded. “You take her. I’ll just make things worse, and besides, I need to check out the cave.”

Ephraim frowned, staring down at the blood covered girl. “You know that who…or what…ever did all this bleeding…it’s more than possible they didn’t survive.”

Sam nodded, grimly. “I know…but we need to make sure…”

Meanwhile, down the road, the dark rider paced, restlessly. Frustrated, she muttered to herself. “…damn Sanderson. If the Big Man was still in full control…”

She cut off at a muffled squawk from the comm. Her voice became rigidly controlled, every word precise and knife-like.

“Blue here. Yes, sir. No, sir, not as far as I know, sir. No, I am not currently at the scene. I know…” Rolling her eyes, but keeping her voice level, she continued. “Sir. The Club sent me here due to my particular abilities, and I must respectfully request that you allow me to use them…”

Another slightly louder squeal from the comm unit caused another eye roll, and a head shake. “No, sir. It was one of the big ones, but I cannot determine which side without actual visual confirmation. No, sir, it was definitely not Her. I would know.”

Her voice finally showed a hint of aggravation and one hand came up to rub the back of her neck, under the helmet. “Sir! I refer you to my previous statement vis a vis my being chosen for this mission above any others, and again respectfully request that you do your job, and allow me to do mine!”

Stifling the outraged squawking with a flip of the toggle, she shrugged out of the helmet, tossing it onto the grass near the bike, and ran her fingers through the spiky dark blue hair that gave her her nickname. Pacing again, a cheetah on a leash, her eyes tossed a frustrated glance up the road, toward the cabin.

She muttered under her breath, a whining mockery of the voice from the comm. “How do you know? How can you tell?”

She huffed, exasperatedly, moving to lean on the bike, one booted foot kicking at the grass, petulantly. “Can’t tell him the burst of power almost knocked me off the bike. Can’t tell him how I know it’s not Her. Can’t let him find out …she’s my mom.”

42 responses

  1. Nice! I like the way you kept the action going-going-going. Nice tension throughout, and a great added twist at the end. The plot thickens…. Very cool, KC. πŸ™‚ (Ooh, the pressure’s on for me!)

    February 12, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    • KC

      Oops and yay! Glad you liked it, sorry wp is stupid and didn’t show me your comment until now. :/

      Yup…have fun, twist away, and we’ll see what it’s turned into once it gets back to me. *wg*

      February 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm

      • That’s okay. I get worried, too, when people don’t comment on my stuff. Especially for this Fiction Relay, where we’re all working together, so you really want to make sure the other authors are cool w/ what you did! πŸ˜› But you have nothing to worry about — you’re a natural.

        February 12, 2013 at 1:29 pm

        • KC

          D’aww…*hugs* Srsly, thanks. It’s comments like that that keep me from chucking all idea of making a pretend living at this and just writing Hallmark cards somewhere in Nebraska. (No offense to any Nebraskans…I admire anyone with the guts to live out there. Yay wind and storms and snow and…three months of pretty…and wind and storms and snow! :p)

          February 12, 2013 at 4:21 pm

  2. Wonderful stuff. And Blue is intriguing. Where is she from? What is her “talent”? Who is her mother? time will tell…

    February 12, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    • KC

      Glad you liked it…just wanted to toss some new ingredients into the salad. *eg* Now lets see what we get by the time it gets back to me! πŸ˜‰

      February 12, 2013 at 4:24 pm

    • KC

      Thank you, boss. I’m home now, thank goodness, but thank you for rescuing my technology ignorant self. *hugs*

      February 12, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      • Welcome home! But “boss”? Im just the one who nags if you take too long. theres noone in charge πŸ™‚

        February 12, 2013 at 6:41 pm

        • KC

          Phmeh. You keep us on track, you put all the linkage together…plus, I just like calling people boss. πŸ˜‰

          February 13, 2013 at 12:47 am

          • Okay then, if it helps.. but its just an honorary title πŸ˜‰

            February 13, 2013 at 1:49 am

          • KC

            :). It’s very gumshoe noir. The wisecracking, gum snapping, crack shot secretary/moll. “Got it covered, Boss!” ;p

            February 13, 2013 at 3:32 am

          • i’m getting to like the title more. it feels like i’m in Bugsy Malone

            February 13, 2013 at 9:36 am

          • KC

            See? *mad-scientist-laughs* I have corrupted him! My work here is done!! *giggles*

            February 13, 2013 at 9:40 am

          • you is trouble!

            February 13, 2013 at 9:40 am

  3. KC

    Starting -new- comment place here just to say, again, “Muahhahahah!” (srsly, check out the thread up/down there! Down to one line! Beautiful! *lol*)

    February 13, 2013 at 9:43 am

  4. Delilah

    Love it! We needed something new.

    February 13, 2013 at 10:31 am

    • KC

      I didn’t want to completely 180 the plot, but I thought I’d go down the path Ted so helpfully opened for me, and see where a little helping of ultra-violence would take us. Glad you liked it!

      February 13, 2013 at 10:36 am

  5. Yes, KC… I do like what you have done. The teaser did tease me, and I’ve been waiting for this… you did not disappoint. Wasn’t sure what was going to happen to Suzi, now I know. But what will Blue and The Club do… Dawn?

    Be sure to put add the teaser to the beginning, so those that didn’t see will know. Good job with that too.

    One other thing… we all tolerate TRG’s ‘modesty’… but he is the boss.

    February 14, 2013 at 1:28 am

    • KC

      Thanks, Ted! I appreciate that. πŸ™‚ Good point to add the teaser…I was being lazy, but you’re right, I can’t assume that everyone that reads it will have seen/will see the post. That’s done, and a few more little edits…and now I have to step back and let it stand on its own…until Dawn comes to play with it. πŸ˜‰

      And yup, I know Boss is the boss…but he doesn’t, and it’s fun to tease him. *wg*

      February 14, 2013 at 8:09 am

      • No Kidding!

        February 14, 2013 at 1:27 pm

      • i like to see my role as more General Secretary / Co-ordinator than uberstaffenfurher or somesuch. But boss IS quite snappy πŸ™‚

        February 15, 2013 at 8:44 am

        • KC

          You giggle me so much, sometimes! “uberstaffenfurher” indeed. Silly Boss. How about “Chief Cook and Bottle Washer” as my dad says? *giggles*

          February 15, 2013 at 8:50 am

          • Well as long as everyone takes a turn washing bottles in a strict order within about a week and washes about 1000 bottles (thats a guideline not a rule!) then…. yeah ok πŸ™‚

            February 15, 2013 at 1:31 pm

          • KC

            “ay-ay, Sir!” *salutes, sharply* “You heard him, Cadet Dawn! On the double, mister! At least 1000 words, one week, Go!” *giggles, a lot* “Whee…that’s fun. Can I be your Staff Sergeant?”

            February 15, 2013 at 4:46 pm

          • If you keep your boots shined and your uniform pressed then of course!

            February 15, 2013 at 9:11 pm

          • KC

            Sir, Yes Sir! πŸ˜‰

            February 15, 2013 at 9:59 pm

  6. KC

    Speaking of…hey, Boss! Any idea if CC knows the story is up? Not sure if I poked her or not. >.< (Poker? I barely know'er! *rs*)

    February 14, 2013 at 8:20 am

    • Wow… don’t say Poke around CC, or TRG for that matter… how about notify? I’ll tell her.

      February 14, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      • KC

        *giggles* I’ll take my chances with TRG. A: I’m on this side of the screen, and B: he’s on that side of the ocean. :p

        February 14, 2013 at 2:08 pm

        • Yea, but CC is on this side…

          February 14, 2013 at 4:06 pm

      • KC

        Oh, and thanks! πŸ˜‰

        February 14, 2013 at 2:08 pm

  7. Story is perfect now… I really like how you began your installment by introducing a new character spying on them. You described Blue with the description of the motorcycle… purring not roaring… much more deadly, I think.

    February 14, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    • KC

      A-yup. Not to mention, as Kipling said. “The female of the species is deadlier than the male”. *wg*

      February 14, 2013 at 2:04 pm

  8. What? Mom?? Ooh, nice job on moving us along!! That twist hit me like a brick. Lol. Nicely done.

    And just so you know, I do not get riled by being poked, contrary to what Ted says. Just because I write a sexy story or two everyone thinks you’re a certain way. Never mind that, good job on your part. πŸ™‚

    February 14, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    • KC

      *laughs* That’s one of the best comments yet! One of the best things a writer can hope for, imo, is that moment of “wait-a-hold-it! Where did -that- come from?” One of the largest influences on my writing (out of the zillions ;p) was O’Henry, who wrote some of the best “wtf??” stories I’ve ever read. If you don’t know him (I’m sad to see how many people don’t) you might remember “The Gift of the Magi”, where the couple can’t afford presents, so they both figure out ways…with a truly amusing (to me) twist ending. Oops. πŸ˜‰

      Or “Ransom of Red Chief”, another of my favorites.

      Or “The Last Leaf”…that one’s sad, but neat.

      *chuckles* You get the idea. Fan Girling done.

      (And as for being poked, while I’m fond of being the poker rather than the pokee, it can be fun either way. *eg*)

      February 15, 2013 at 1:48 am

  9. Pingback: Fiction Relay – Part 23 | The Mouse's Soapbox

  10. Okay, just posted Part 23:
    http://themousessoapbox.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/fiction-relay-part-23/

    Hope y’all like it! πŸ™‚

    February 21, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    • KC

      Yay! *hugs*. Can’t wait! So I won’t! So I’ll be right back! *giggles*

      February 21, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  11. Pingback: FICTION RELAY PART 23 | hastywords

Talk to me, people! ;)

