A poetic journey through my mind

Versatility and Other Shiny Things


So, since this episode of the wonderful fun that is the Fiction Relay promises to kick my arse a bit harder than usual (T’anks, Sis! ;p) I thought I’d better put something up here itmt, so here goes.

Umm.

versatileblogger11

Oh, yeah! I almost forgot, I gots me another award-type-thingie! My NB/Evil Twin (or am I the evil one? I forget…) Joanne, just picked up an -extremely- well deserved “Versatile Blogger” award, and in sheer panic at having to find a bunch of people to toss that particular hot potato towards, picked me. Along with some insignificant others…*cough*…TRG. Oh Hi, Boss! *giggles*

Since I was a bit too slow to duck, I s’pose I’ll have to take the bullet…I mean award…although as usual for me I’m going to be -way- too contrary to play by the “rules” of the award. So everyone can rest easy, I won’t be tossing this little bomb in your lap…but if you want it, lord-and-lady knows you can have it. I know if you’re reading this then “versatile” is the -least- of the words that can be used to describe you. *hugs*

The “7 nifty things” bit I’ll play along with, but just because well, who wouldn’t be interested in learning more about lil’old me? (Put your hand down, Twin. ;p)

So…7 nifty things about me.

I am an amateur mythologist, I’ve loved reading, finding, comparing and retelling the myths and legends of every culture I can get my hands on since I was able to read…sometime around 4 or 5-ish. Joseph Campbell makes my head hurt…but in a good way. *g*

I am an amateur Semiologist. No way I’m explaining that without a whole new post, so I’ll just play chicken and link you to the Wiki. Have fun. ;p

I belong to the Medieval Reenactment Group known as the Society for Creative Anachronism, and have done so for over 30 yrs. now. Even managed to drag my mother and father in (Well, I dragged her, she dragged him. ;p) and now they go when I don’t. 🙂

I am addicted to Jasmine Beckett-Griffith art. I am literally surrounded by it when I sit at my computer, from my mousepad to the tarot on my dresser to the giant wall poster behind me, and more between.

I am a fan of many many many things geekly, from Star Wars to Trek to Steampunk and every flavor in between…but the only one to actually stick and make me -want- to claim my fandom and obsession…is Joss Whedon’s “Firefly”. I am a Browncoat for life. I love JW’s other stuff, don’t get me wrong…but Firefly wins. And Fox…just so you know…you can’t stop the signal. “May have been the losing side. Still not convinced it was the wrong one.”

I’ve crossed this country by Greyhound bus approx. 10 times…Florida to California, Montana to Texas, Florida to Washington, Florida to Canada, and various back and forths. Fun then…not so much now. >.<

I am a huge Japanophile. Don’t think I could ever live over there…I’m too big, and there are too many scary bity things…but the niftiness that is anime, and j-pop/rock/metal, and Harajuku, and all the bazillionty-jillion subcultures that don’t have to worry about being sub…love it all. Oh, and then there’s Pockies.

I got to see the Harlem Globetrotters in person with my dad when I was 10 or so. I laughed so hard the tears ran down my leg.

I can’t watch past the “earwig” scene in “Search for Spock” because I get nauseous. The first time I watched it was in the theatre, my grandparents took me and my brother out for our b-days, his 10th and my 12th. We went to Chucky Cheese and gorged on pizza and then ate popcorn/hotdogs/candy/soda at the theatre…and then I watched them put the thing in Checkov’s helmet…and that’s the last thing I know about that movie. Still. *shrugs*

Heh…oops. Well, ok, 9 things. And enough. One more thing before I take off, though. On the note of Firefly fandom and suchlike. This is an awesome video of an awesome filk song called “Mal’s Song” by Escape Key. I just found it, and had to share. I know I number at least one Browncoat in my peeps (and you, Boss, although don’t watch, cause there might be teeny spoilers. >.<)

Ok, now back to our regularly scheduled program of waiting for me to toss something into the Fiction Relay stewpot and see what boils up. ;p

 

 

4 responses

  1. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbT5FFgmvuo How rude!!! I wrote a long ass comment and it went away 😦
    to sum up; sorry, I’m such a newbie I thought an award was a good thing, not a bomb (ducks head for return fire), my house is empty and so is my inbox (I had overfifteenthousandemailscloggingupmyinboxshhhhhhhh) and most importantly, I lurves you so i’m sorry sweetest one, I shall email you tonight (finally!!!!) and also I can’t wait for you to kick my ass in the Relay ala Fiction ;-P

    also, can I put you In my pocket and carry you everywhere I go?
    and you probably already saw the vid in the link thingy here (The Man They Call Joss) and here’s Joss singing commentary from Dr Horrible http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VffJKKp2BrU because I lurves him too ❤

    September 3, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    • KC

      D’aww…*huggles*…I lurve you, Twin. I didn’t mean to be that snarky, it’s just that the whole award thing…well, it bugs me, in principle. I guess it’s cool, in the spirit of the thing, and I know you (and most likely everyone but me, but I dunno) mean it in the best way, aka “I really like you and think your stuff is awesome so here is something almost tangible to say so”, but to me, all I hear is “Hey, I got this thing that says “give this to 15 other people or your house will burn down and nobody will like you and somebody will kill a kitten” so…umm…here you go? I guess? Think of the kittens!!”

      “Would you lend a caring hand, to shelter all those kittens…look, one’s playing with a ball, and see, one’s wearing mittens…would you help? No? Maybe you?” (with all due apologies to JW for slaughtering his piece-of-a-song)

      *shakes head* Ok, ok, I’m a cynical jerk. I’m sorry. I always feel like the adult holding the mostly wilted sticky-stemmed dandelion and trying to find something nice to say about it to its young presenter. Aaaand, there’s me being superior and jerkly again. *grumbles* Maybe I should just let Mia accept the awards from now on…she’d get a kick out of it. 🙂

      And many many giggles for the Joss-man’s commentary song. Love it love it love it…come to think of it, maybe that’s why I love him so damn much…he feels the same way I do about so many things, and he’s not afraid to say it, but he still manages to be positive and fan-friendly about it so we love him. I guess. I think. Maybe. ;p

      Also I am unfortunately somewhat larger than pocket sized, although I suppose that depends on the size of your pockets, but…what makes you think I’m not -already- with you, everywhere? *insert evil raised eyebrow stare here*

      To sum up…no, an award isn’t a bomb, or a hot potato that must keep bouncing or hurt someone and I’m just a cynical jerk with no self esteem who can’t accept a compliment and just say thank you I’m glad you think so with a smile. So here’s a hug and a smile, and thank you, I’m glad you think I’m worth it. Or at least my stuff is. 🙂

      September 3, 2013 at 8:20 pm

  2. Well done

    September 4, 2013 at 5:51 am

    • KC

      *hugs* Thank you. ❤

      September 4, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

