A poetic journey through my mind

Lullaby

This is something I wrote in the middle of the night, feeling the thoughts and worries of my new roommate.  I can’t show it to her, it will only hurt her…but I hope it gives someone else a picture, and maybe a little more compassion for the frightened and confused.  🙂   

 

 

Scared and shaking, frightened and confused,
sleepless and questioning, feeling accused,
where am I, what am I, why do I hurt?
where are my pants, where is my shirt?
where are my people, my family, my friends,
why does this nightmare never seem to end?
they tell me to sleep, take my pills and behave,
they tell me to wait, to be strong, to be brave.
but I’m lonely, and hurting, and pain-filled and lost,
and worried about things like pain, and like cost.
so how do I rest, in the hours so deep,
alone with my thoughts and promises to keep.
from my family, get better, come home well,
from my doctor, to follow his laws, and to tell.
I hold onto my promises, and remember the faces,
and remember that this is just one of the places,
I’m just here to get well, cared for and loved,
and no one will hurt me, and no one will shove,
and nothing they do is to hurt me or scare,
and now I can sleep without worry or care.

One response

  1. That is just scary. and so sad.

    October 12, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

