A poetic journey through my mind

Heartsong

Where do I live, what is my pride,
What is this tickle that burrows inside?
The howling at night when the loneliness calls,
the whisper that screams down behind the white walls?
How do I find it, the place I belong,
do I follow my heart,
do I follow a song?
Do I search for a scrap of rhyme scrawled by a cloud,
or something my heart begins screaming out loud?
I’m lost in the maelstrom of “present” and “now”,
in time rushing past, can I stop it somehow?
Can I hold the years still, though the waters are strong, and finally return to the place I belong?
Lost in the whirlwind,
staring back through the years,
do I answer my heart song or follow my fears?

4 responses

  1. Impressed with this writing, KC.

    November 7, 2016 at 11:21 am

    • KC

      Blushing…seriously. Thanks, Ted, that means a lot to me. 😊

      November 8, 2016 at 8:16 pm

  2. My vote is to follow your fears – down until you reach the darkness where they live. Then turn around and look them in the eye – really look at them, acknowledge them, and maybe let a part of the darkness become part of you. Accept who you are, fully. Then, when that’s done, and you’re at peace again, darkness and all… then go follow your heart song.

    Just my 2 cents – you know I’ll be behind you no matter which door you choose, KC. Hugs, girl! 🙂

    November 7, 2016 at 8:56 pm

    • KC

      Darkness and all…yup. Love you, girl!
      ğŸ˜Ž

      November 8, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Talk to me, people! ;)

